× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

New Investigator Award


The New Investigator Award will not be offered by The Center for Health Design in 2020. Please check back again in 2021.

About the Award

The Center for Health Design’s Research Coalition's New Investigator Award (NIA) supports high quality research by new investigators around the world in the field of evidence-based healthcare facility design. The award is open to graduate students, and other recent research degree recipients whose contributions reflect their potential to conduct original, empirical research to improve our understanding of the relationships between the physical environment and health-related outcomes & wellness. The goal of the award is to support new researchers whose research is likely to fill critical gaps in the field of evidence-based design (EBD).
All applications will undergo a thorough peer-review process, conducted by The Center’s Research Coalition (RC) members. 

The Center for Health Design will present one award up to $10,000 to a researcher in the early phase of their research career. Additionally, the award recipient will receive complimentary registration to attend the Healthcare Design Expo & Conference, where they will have the opportunity to present their completed study; travel and lodging expense will also be covered by The Center. The award recipient will be designated a member of The Center’s Research Coalition for one year.

Please direct questions to:

Catherine Ancheta, Project Manager, 1850 Gateway Boulevard, Suite 1083, Concord, CA 94520   925.521.9404 x122 cancheta@healthdesign.org.


Past Winners 

The 2018 Winner: Kathryn Peditto Awarded New Investigator Award

The 2017 Winner: Deborah Wingler Awarded New Investigator Award

The 2016 Winner: Lori Reynolds Awarded New Investigator Award

The 2015 Winner: Lorissa MacAllister Awarded New Investigator Award

The 2014 Winners: Two Winners Awarded New Investigator Award

The 2013 Winner: Young-Seon Choi Awarded New Investigator Award
The 2011 Winner: Rana Zadeh Awarded New Investigator Award