× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Telemedicine: The Genie's Out of the Bottle


When: September 22, 2020
Time: 8:00am Pacific
What: Agenda
Price: $295.00

Workshop Hours:

8:00 AM PT/ 11:00 AM ET - 
2:30 PM PT/5:30 PM ET

AGENDA

5.0 CEUs

To become an event sponsor/partner, 
contact Randy Carter, rcarter@healthdesign.org
(541) 965-1922

DETAILS

 

Multiple COVID-19 relief packages have expanded access to telemedicine, and during the height of the pandemic, we all watched telemedicine services explode across the country. In a pre-pandemic world, physicians were often not allowed to offer many telemedicine services outside of rural areas and were not reimbursed for those services. Today, regulators have temporarily waived "originating site" and geographic restrictions on Medicare's coverage of telemedicine services.  As a result, the use of telemedicine grew exponentially, many times in an ad-hoc fashion. 

What did we learn? Did these experiences provide a satisfying, quality experience for the patient and clinician? Did we have appropriate settings to deliver care? In an era where more focus was on what we looked like for a Zoom call, how did we translate and transfer best practices to telemedicine?


Please join us as industry experts and health systems share the latest on the policy front, how telemedicine was implemented in different health system; what should be considered now in the planning and design of potential solutions; and why the environment matters to support this expansion to more virtual care. Multiple attendees from the same organization registering at the same time receive 10% off.

 

Learning Objectives

  • Explain the value that Telemedicine can provide in improving access and equity to all people who need healthcare.
  • Describe how several healthcare systems integrated and implemented Telemedicine as a key part of their overall strategy to improve their ability to deliver care to their patients.
  • Identify different models that health systems used to enhance the health, safety and delivery of healthcare to the populations served.
  • Demonstrate why and how the design of the built environment makes a difference in the delivery of telemedicine.

 

Presenting Faculty


September 22, 2020

 

7:30 AM PT / 10:30 AM ET
Social Networking Event


8:00 AM PT/ 11:00 AM ET
Technology Check and Networking

 

8:15 AM PT/11:15 AM ET
Welcoming Opening Remarks and Introductions

Debra Levin, Hon. FASID, EDAC 
CEO and President
The Center for Health Design

 


 

Donna Deckard, BSN, NPA, EDAC
Director of Strategic Projects
The Center for Health Design

 

 


 

8:30 AM PT/ 11:30 AM ET
Telemedicine, The Genie and The Bottle: COVID-19 and Beyond
Susan Dentzer is a highly-respected health policy thought leader, frequent speaker and commentator on television and radio and was the lead author of the book “Health Care Without Walls: A Roadmap for Reinventing the U.S. Health Care.” Currently a Senior Policy Fellow at the Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy, Susan focuses on research and thought leadership for modernizing the health care system through the use of greater virtual care and a reconfigured health care work force. She will share her perspectives about policy implications and the impact of telemedicine on the future delivery of care.

Susan Dentzer
Senior Policy Fellow
Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy
 

 

 

 

9:30 AM PT/12:30 PM ET
Health System Strategy: Are We There Yet? Yes, virtually? How COVID-19 has Jump-Started Digital Care
UW Health provides several telehealth initiatives (e.g. eICU, Telestroke, Telepathology, Telecardiology, Telepsychiatry, and Telekids.) Dr. Brazelton and Elsa Jacobson led the planning, design, rollout and expansion of their telemedicine programs during the pandemic. They coordinated the implementation, use and access for more than 1500 providers in multiple buildings and sites with information services and other facility support services. Learn about their challenges, lessons learned and future plans for the health system.

Thomas B. Brazelton, MD, MPH
Faculty
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
 

 

 

 

Elsa Jacobson
Senior Director Ambulatory Access & Telehealth
UW Health
 

 

 

 

10:00 AM PT/1:00 PM ET
Break

 

10:25 AM PT/1:25 PM ET
Recap of Earlier Session

10:30 AM PT/ 1:30 PM ET
Break Out Rooms - Session 1

Groups will discuss policy and planning issues, as well as the value that telemedicine can provide improving access and equity to people that need healthcare. Implications for the future will be considered.


11:00 AM PT/ 2:00 PM ET
Report from Break Out Rooms

Representatives will summarize key insights from each group.

11:30 AM PT/ 2:30 PM ET
Telemedicine Built Environment Implications

The design of spaces used for telemedicine communication should strive to maintain the level of safety, privacy, and quality of care, and patient experience that would be expected for that same communication when it takes place in person.  The built environment can support the safe and effective delivery of care. Learn about recommendations, supported by research and best design practice, which illustrate how design matters.

Ellen Taylor, Ph.D., AIA, MBA, EDAC
Vice President for Research
The Center for Health Design
 

 

 

 

12:00 PM PT/3:00 PM ET
Solutions Showcase

To provide telemedicine services, health systems are trying multiple solutions and new strategies based upon the varying populations they want to reach. Several health systems will discuss their approach and unique features that are being tried with a goal to evaluate their future impact on care delivery.

Chelsey Wickmark
Senior Experience Lead
Philips Experience Design 
Philips

 

 

 

Tony J. Guarino, EDAC, LEED, GA
Principal Medical Architect/Planner
National Facilities Services
Kaiser Permanente

 

 

 

Mark Queralt, MD
Clinical Director, Musculoskeletal Institute
Dell Medical School
The University of Texas at Austin

 

 

 


12:40 PM PT/ 3:40 PM ET
Break



12:55 PM PT/3:55 PM ET
Recap of the Day So Far

 

1:00 PM PT/4:00 PM ET
Break Out Rooms - Session 2

Smaller groups will discuss the way healthcare systems integrated and implemented Telemedicine as a key part of their overall strategy to improve their ability to deliver care to their patients. Discussions will focus on different models that health systems used to enhance the health, safety and delivery of healthcare to the populations served and highlight how the design of the built environment influenced the dellivery of care.

 

1:30 PM PT/ 4:30 PM ET
Representatives will summarize key insights from each group.

 

1:55 PM PT/4:55 PM ET
Panel Reflections and Final Comments

Our speakers will reflect upon what they've heard and provide final comments to summarize the day.

 

2:20 PM PT/5:20 PM ET
Closing/Wrap Up