× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Britta K. Ostermeyer, MD, MBA, DFAPA

The Paul and Ruth Jonas Chair, Professor & Chairman, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
College of Medicine, University of Oklahoma

Dr. Ostermeyer is the Paul and Ruth Jonas Chair in Mental Health and Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, College of Medicine, at the University of Oklahoma in Oklahoma City. She is also the Chief of Psychiatry for OU Health.

She graduated from Hanover Medical School, in Hanover, Germany and completed her last two years of medical school at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. Dr. Ostermeyer trained in neurology at Baylor College of Medicine followed by a residency in psychiatry at The New York State Psychiatric Institute and Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City. She completed a fellowship in forensic psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio and received her MBA degree from the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

Dr. Ostermeyer has a longstanding interest in administrative and forensic psychiatry and has published over 200 scholarly writings. She also received a number of teaching and service awards, including the 2007 Gold Award for Service Achievement and the 2019 George Tarjan Award from the American Psychiatric Association, the 2009 Excellence in Community Service Award from the Texas Hospital Association for integrated mental health services, and the 2019 Gordon Deckert Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at OU.

She is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and presently serves as Vice-President, American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (APPL); President-Elect, Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association (OPPA); Immediate Past-President, American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry (AACDP), and is a Board Member of the Forensic Section of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA).