× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Russ Coile Lifetime Achievement Award

The Russ Coile Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor that The Center for Health Design can bestow upon a professional in the field of health design. Established in 2007 in honor of the late Russ Coile who served on The Center for Health Design's board of directors, the award recognizes a significant body of work with lasting influence on research, theory and practice, with contributions of an individual over an entire career.

Given at The Healthcare Design Expo & Conference,  this honor acknowledges an individual’s continuous dedication to the advancement of our field whose legacy not only informs how we practice, but profoundly changes the lives of individuals we seek to serve.

Past Honorees Include: 

2022: Uriel Cohen, PhD and Gerald Weisman, PhD, Founders and Co-Directors, Institute on Aging & Environment at the School of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Watch award ceremony video here

2021: Frank Zilm, D.Arch., FAIA, FACHA, Chester Dean Director of the KU Institute for Health + Wellness Design, University of Kansas School of Architecture, Design, and Planning
Watch award ceremony video here

2019:  Clare Cooper Marcus, professor emerita, departments of architecture and landscape architecture at the University of California at Berkeley and principal of Healing Landscapes
Watch award ceremony video here

2018: Jain Malkin, CID, AAHID, EDAC, Evidence-Based Design Consultant, La Jolla, CA
Watch award ceremony video here

2015: Roz Cama, FASID, NCIDQ, EDAC, President, Principal Interior Designer Of CAMA
Watch award ceremony video here

2015: Elizabeth Brawley*, AAHID, IIDA, CID, President Design Concepts Ltd.
* given at The Environments for Aging Conference

2008: Norman Polsky, Fixtures Furniture Founder

2007: Robert Levine, Senior Vice President, Turner Construction's Healthcare Group