You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now!

Research Coalition


The Research Coalition nurtures, supports and produces evidence-based design research that contribute to therapeutic, safe, efficient and effective healthcare settings. Comprised of research professionals, design practitioners and healthcare administrators, our Research Coalition steers our funding for healthcare design research, helps guide these projects to success and develops information and tools for implementing evidence-based design in existing and new facilities.




Saif Haq, PhD, Professor, Associate Dean of Research, Texas Tech University 
Avein Saaty-Tafoya, EDAC, CEO, Adelante Healthcare

Current Members 

Sheila Bosch, PhD, LEED AP, EDAC, Professor, University of Florida, Jacksonville
Barbara Dellinger, MA, AAHID, IIDA, CID, EDAC, Director of Design Research, Adventist Healthcare
Don Goldmann, MD, Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Lynn Kenney, Director of Industry Relations, The Center for Health Design
Yolanda Keys, DHA, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Associate Professor, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Von Lambert, Senior Project Manager, Rider Levett Bucknall
Debra Levin, MA, EDAC, President, The Center for Health Design
Mark Patterson, AIA, LEED AP, Vice President, SmithGroup
Ron Smith, AIA, ACHA, EDAC, LEED AP, President/CEO, Design at the Intersection, LLC
Jaynelle Stichler, DNSc, RN, NEA-BC, EDAC, FACHE, FAAN, Professor Emerita of Nursing, San Diego State University
Ellen, Taylor, PhD, AIA, MBA, EDAC, Director of Research, The Center for Health Design
Walter Vernon, EDAC, President & CEO, Mazzetti and Associates
Frank Weinberg, Board Chair, The Center for Health Design
Rana Zadeh, M.Arch, PhD, Assistant Professor, Cornell University

New Investigator Member 

Lorissa MacAllister, PhD, BSW, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, EDAC

Past Members

Frank Becker, (Co-Chair Emeritus)
Paul Barach (Co-Chair Emeritus)
Roger Call
Uriel Cohen
H. Bart Franey (Co-Chair Emeritus)
Tejas Gandhi
Debra Harris
Kathy Hathorn
Guy Kiyokawa
Roger Leib
Jim Lussier
Eileen Malone (Co-Chair Emeritus)
Debajyoti Pati
Jane Rohde
Bill Rostenberg
Mardelle Shepley
W.H. (Tib) Tusler
Roger Ulrich
Laurie Waggener
Robert White
Jean Young
Terri Zborowsky
Frank Zilm
Craig Zimring