× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Changemaker Award

Sponsored by Mecho, this award is given annually by The Center for Health Design at Healthcare Design Expo & Conference, and occasionally at the Environments for Aging Expo & Conference, the award honors individuals or organizations that have demonstrated exceptional ability to change the way healthcare facilities are designed and built, and whose work has a broad impact on the advancement of healthcare design.

Award Information

Criteria: Individuals or organizations that have demonstrated exceptional ability to make change happen in how healthcare facilities are designed and built, and whose work has had a broad impact.

Eligible Nominees: Nominees can be, but are not limited to, design professionals, design firms, product manufacturers, healthcare professionals (including practitioners), healthcare institutions, healthcare facility owners, researchers, educators, authors, consultants, associations, association leaders, etc.


Past honorees include:

2020: Cynthia McCullough, MSN, EDAC, Senior Clinical Planner, HDR.
Click here to view the Changemaker Award Video Presentation.

2019: David Allison, FAIA, FACHA, alumni distinguished professor and director graduate studies in Architecture + Health at Clemson University, award to be presented at HCD Expo & Conference, November 4, 2019.

2019: Robert N. Mayer, PhD, (posthumously) given at EFA Expo & Conference

2018: Francis Murdock Pitts, FAIN, FACHA, OAA

2017: Mardelle Shepley, FAIA, EDAC, FACHA, LEED AP BD+C

2016: Jaynelle F. Stichler, DNS, RN, EDAC, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN  and
D. Kirk Hamilton, FAIA, FACHA, EDAC

2015: Roger Ulrich, PhD, EDAC, guest professor of Architecture at the Center for Healthcare Architecture at Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden

2015: Jane Rohde, AIA, FIIDA, CHID, ACHA, AAHID LEED® AP BC+D, Green Globes CIEB Assessor, principal/ founder of JSR Associates, Inc., given at EFA Expo & Conference

2014Avein Saaty-Tafoya, MD, MBA, HCM, EDAC, Chief Executive Officer, Adelante Healthcare 

2013: MASS Design Group, Boston, MA

2012: Derek Parker, FAIA, RIBA, FACHA, Vice Chair Laguna Honda Hospital, Board Member Marin General Hospital, Co-Founder and Chair for The Medicapower Corporation, Senior Advisor for Aditazz

2011: John Kouletsis, AIA, EDAC, Vice President, Facilities Planning, National Facilities Services, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.

2010: Cheryl Herbert, former President of Dublin Methodist Hospital, now Senior Vice President, Clinical Support Services for OhioHealth

2009Eileen B. Malone, RN, MSN, EDAC, Colonel (Retired), United States Army

2008Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA, Principal and Senior Vice President, HKS

2007Bev Johnson, President, Institute for Family-Centered Care

2006: Frank J. Sardone, ACHE, Bronson Healthcare

2005: Robin Guenther, FAIA, LEED AP, Guenther5 Architects

2004: Russell C. Coile, Jr., MBA

2003: Ann Hendrich, RN, MSN, Ascension Health

2002: Cynthia A. Leibrock, ASID, Hon. IIDA, Easy Access

2001: William H. Thomas, M.D., Eden Alternative

2000: Leland R. Kaiser, Ph.D.

1999: Robin Orr, MPH



The Changemaker Award Sponsor since 1999: