× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Nightingale Awards


Sponsored by The Center for Health Design in conjunction with Healthcare Design magazine and Healthcare Design Conference + Expo, the Nightingale Awards recognize the best new products introduced to the market in the last year.

The annual Nightingale Awards, which recognizes products related to the healthcare built environment, are named for Florence Nightingale, a tireless advocate for the improvement of care and conditions in military and civilian hospitals in the 1800s.

At Healthcare Design Conference + Expo, the products are juried by seasoned healthcare design professionals and healthcare facility managers. The jury makes selections based on the product’s contribution to a healing environment, functionality, quality and durability, aesthetics and style, pricing, and innovation. To evaluate the entries, jurors visit the exhibitors’ booths before the show floor opens at the Healthcare Design Conference + Expo to examine the products in person and ask questions of the manufacturers as well.

Purpose: To recognize excellence and innovation in healthcare product design. 

Who Can Enter: Product manufacturers exhibiting at the annual Healthcare Design Conference + Expo held in November. 

Entry Criteria: Submitted products must be new healthcare and contract (non-residential) products introduced to the U.S. market since November 2022 and must not have been entered in previous Nightingale Awards competitions. This competition is open only to companies exhibiting during the Healthcare Design Conference + Expo in New Orleans, LA from November 4-7, 2023. Prototypes are not eligible. Each manufacturer/brand may enter as many products into the competition in as many categories as they wish. A jury of design professional reviews entrants based on the following criteria:

  • Aesthetics & Innovation
  • Built Environment Solution, Durability, Functionality & Quality
  • Contribution or Solution for Clinical or Operational Outcomes
  • Industry Certifications & Standards
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Pricing

Product Categories:

  1. Architectural Products: Clinical 
  2. Architectural Products: Non-Clinical
  3. Carpet
  4. Demountable Walls
  5. Fabrics & Textiles 
  6. Flooring: Hard-Surface
  7. Flooring: Resilient
  8. Furniture: Clinician Support
  9. Furniture Collections (non-seating)
  10. Lighting
  11. Seating: Conference
  12. Seating: Guest/Lounge
  13. Seating: Patient
  14. Signage & Wayfinding
  15. Surfacing Materials
  16. Storage & Accessories
  17. Technology-Integrated Solutions
  18. Window Shading & Treatments

Recognition: Selected winners are eligible for a Gold Award, Silver Award, Innovation Award, or Sustainability Award, and one will receive the overall Best of Competition Award. In addition to being recognized during an official awards ceremony at the Healthcare Design Conference + Expo, winners also receive editorial coverage in the  January/February 2024 issue of Healthcare Design magazine, and in The Center for Health Design’s promotions and notices.

Click here to view the 2022 winners
Click here to view the 2021 winners
Click here to view the 2019 winners
Click here to view the 2018 winners